1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Compass training ideals needed

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by hubb928, Dec 13, 2016.

1. hubb928

hubb928 New Member

can anyone suggest training ideals or drills that will improve my navigation skills. Thank you in advance

2. Mike Major

Mike Major Active Member

Get a map and compass and get out into the dirt it's the best way. Take a GPS with you in case you get a little turned around. Practice resection, shooting and walking bearings, pace count, etc. I would say a good drill would be to layout a route on the map with a bunch of waypoints and then walking it using only compass bearings and pace count after which refer to your GPS track to see how close you got.

Practice practice and then practice

AJ ESCUDERO likes this.
  3. TinkyPete

TinkyPete New Member

I was a map reading instructor in the British army, one of the best tips I can give you is to get a good quality map of you area and a compass and go to a hill side which has a good view and work out where exactly you are on the map and using your compass start to take bearings of you to locations and work out where you are, it will familiarise yourself with the area and get you understanding the map and what it represents on your area.